Many people today like to visit museums in Italy - and this is understandable, because they have a lot of interesting things. In the beautiful province of Valle d’Aosta, which is located in the north of modern Italy, there is the castle of Fenis, which has been well preserved since the Middle Ages and has become one of the brightest museums in modern Italy. Fenis Castle, in fact, today is a furniture museum, located in the southwest of the province, at the very foot of Saint-Julien. It is surrounded on all sides by picturesque surroundings.
This castle is of great interest to many tourists - since back in 1936 after a special restoration a truly unique one opened here italian furniture museum and diverse interiors. This museum is an excellent example of classical medieval architecture. At the same time, it must be said that for the entire time of its existence, it has never been besieged by enemies - that is why it has retained its rather formidable appearance to this day.
The first reliable references to the castle are found in manuscripts of the beginning of the 13th century; then it was in the possession of the Viscount D’Aost family. Further, its owners at different times were members of the Shallan family. A significant modernization of this castle was made in the 14th century, but, alas, later the castle gradually began to lose its former splendor. Even the change of ownership in 1716 did not make positive changes - the castle continued to gradually collapse. In this condition, the castle stood for almost two hundred years, until in 1895 its new owner, Joseph Rosset (Italian consul), resold it to the state. From this moment, the era of museum existence has come for the castle. After many reconstructions and special restorations on the territory of this castle was opened furniture museum.
It is important to know that the shape of the general panorama of the castle’s plan is a pentagon, in the corners of which there are special round towers, only with the exception of several square ones (southeast and south towers). The main tower of the castle is protected by a special double wall with special watchtowers, which are interconnected by a parapet in a circle. The entrance to this castle was made earlier through a special square tower, which was equipped with a special lowering grate in case of dangers.
On the ground floor, visitors can see the front hall, kitchen, dining room, pantry, room for special classes and a special room for the publican (for tax collection). The entire second floor of this castle is presented for various excursions - a small reception room and a house chapel, as well as a special personal room of the former owners of this castle, which has the name - Viscount room.
The entire courtyard is equipped with a special semicircular staircase and special wooden terraces. Here, various frescoes that are located on the walls of the castle deserve attention. Many researchers attribute them to the beginning of the 15th century.
The scenes depicted in these frescoes are dedicated to the famous feat of St. George the Victorious, who killed the serpent, and also depict various sages and special prophets with manuscripts in their hands, on which aphorisms and spiritual instructions are written in Old French.