In 1959, the main work on the restoration of the Katalnaya Gorka pavilion in Oranienbaum was completed. Rinaldi in 1762 - 1774.
Catalan mountains occupied a peculiar place in the Russian landscape gardening architecture of the 18th century. The names of major architects of that time - V. Rastrelli, A. Rinaldi, the famous architect V. Neyelov, and also the outstanding mechanic-inventor A.K. Nartov - are associated with their creation.
Winter skiing from the mountains, one of the favorite folk entertainment, was widespread in Russia. In the 18th century, icy mountains could be found almost everywhere. Decorated with Christmas trees and lanterns, such mountains were a beautiful sight. Skating became widespread in court life, especially in the 1740s-1760s. So, in 1735, in St. Petersburg, at the royal palace, a wooden slope was attached to the first floor, covered with ice and sledded. Later, the mountains began to be designed as independent park structures, the high part of which was built in the form of pavilions. By their nature, they belonged to the "entertaining" type of buildings and were a kind of addition to the ceremonial palaces, making up a single ensemble with them and the surrounding park.
The Katalny Mountains belong to the original Russian buildings of the 18th century. According to contemporaries, they led foreigners in amazement. In Western European countries, such structures during this period are not found. Models of mountains were sent abroad several times, and later there they also began to create similar structures. "Russian mountains", for example, are available in the Parisian "Luna Park". Their very name shows that the idea of construction dates back to the Russian Katalny mountains.
Oranienbaum Roller Coaster belonged to the largest architectural ensembles of the XVIII century. She occupied an area of 22,000 square meters. meters and was 532 meters long. A long mountain descended from the height of the third floor of the massive pavilion, consisting of a straight line and three wavy slopes, following each other in a single line. On the sides of the ramps were framed by a colonnade, forming galleries, covered with a flat roof. Decorated with balustrades, sculptures and vases, they served as walking platforms from which a picturesque view of the park and the mountain opened. The gallery included more than seven hundred columns and more than one hundred pylons. In the middle part of the colonnades towered two towers, emphasizing the entrance to the overlapping galleries. From the mountain we rode in wheelchairs equipped with twelve metal wheels moving along the cut tracks. The strollers came back using a hoisting machine with a cable.
A roller coaster was built in Oranienbaum during the years when the period of change of architectural styles began in Russian architecture, and, like in other works of A. Rinaldi, new artistic searches were reflected. When creating the ensemble, the architect relied on the traditions of Russian national architecture, the technical and construction experience of his predecessors.