We are searching data for your request:
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.
One of the most wonderful museums in the Donetsk region is considered to be the complex of monasteries of the Holy Assumption Svyatogorsk Lavra. Although it was officially created recently, only in 2002, the base of its exhibits is amazing, because in its collection there are more than 14 thousand items dedicated to the history of the Holy Mountains. Yes, and by the way, on the territory of the Svyatogorsky monastery there are also a huge number of architectural monuments that enchant visitors with their beauty. And after all, besides the fact that they are beautiful, they also have a great historical value, so any visitor will be able to completely immerse themselves in the history of this place, simply by entering one of the buildings. And now let's look at the Museum of the Svyatogorsky Reserve in more detail.
History of the foundation of the monastery
If you look closely at the very origins of this place, it is problematic to say by whom and when this museum was founded. Even the historians themselves have heated debates about the date of foundation, some talk about the age of the monastery complex of the Assumption Svyatogorsk Lavra at 350 years old, others in the 5th century, while others completely relate it to Kievan Rus. But one thing is for sure, the monks have been living here for a long time. Until the end of the 17th century, Svyatogorsky monastery didn’t even have elevated buildings and all the premises were dug by monks.
A few words about the history of the Svyatogorsky monastery
The history of this place is quite interesting. By decree of Catherine II, this monastery was closed, and the land passed into the possession of Grigory Potemkin. However, after some time, in 1844, the monastery was restored. In 1922, by decision of the Government of the USSR, the monastery was re-closed for political reasons, and until 1980 it was anything but a temple complex. And only in the 80s did the restoration of the monastery begin. And already in 1992 the monastery again officially started working, the monks returned to it, prayers began to be read again. Historical monuments began to be restored precisely from 1980, and today it is one of the most beautiful places that can tell about the history of the Donetsk Region.
It’s hard to say what fascinates visitors more Svyatogorsky monastery: the beauty of the place, exhibits that very eloquently tell the story or the building of the monastery complex itself. This is truly a unique place.